bubblesay
Available Now: from your local bookseller or
amazon-icon-678 barnes-and-noble-icon goodreads icon

 

What It Was Like

A NOVEL OF LOVE AND CONSEQUENCE

“It’s really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They’re right. I did some extremely foolish things; I’m the first to say it. And they’ve left me in jail and alone.”

So begins one of the most compelling, emotionally charged, and affecting novels you are likely to read this year.

It is the summer of 1968 and a young man takes a job at a camp in upstate New York before starting his first semester at Columbia University. There, he meets Rachel Prince, a fellow counselor who is as beautiful as she is haunted Their romance will burn with a passion neither of them has ever known before…a passion with the power to destroy.

In the tradition of Endless Love and Gone Girl, What It Was Like is an intimate, raw, and revealing journey through the landscape of all-consuming love. It announces the debut of a remarkable storyteller.

 

"Once I started reading I had to finish the book as fast as I could."
  - Stan Chervin, screenwriter. Academy Award nominee for Moneyball

Read an excerpt listen

 

scroll downdownload-icon for more
"My obsession with What it Was Like is identical to the one the story’s wry, intelligent, and completely unremorseful narrator has for the beautiful, sexually intoxicating and mesmerizing Rachel Prince, with whom he begins a romance that we know from the opening pages is ill-fated. Once I started reading, I had to finish the book as fast as I could. Reading What is Was Like made me experience all the joys – and dangers – of teenage lust with an immediacy that I haven’t felt since Splendor in the Grass."
– Stan Chervin, Screenwriter, Academy Award nominee for Moneyball

 

twitter-icon facebook-icon

SlideBar

The Music of What It Was Like

Louie, Louie” by the Kingsmen